Find a reputable business?

What's on your mind? We're here to help you

0 Reviews

0 Answers

Final Pay

Date: 3/16/2013 7:48 PM (PST)

I was fired and my job is making me wait for my check. They are saying that they have a 3 day grace period? I've never heard of this, and I want my money. What should I do?

Category: Business

Responses: 2

1 Reviews

204 Answers

Expert

Date: 3/18/2013 12:15 PM (PST)

All wages and accrued vacation earned but unpaid are due and payable:
• Immediately when an employee is terminated;
• On the last day of work for an employee who quits with more than 72 hours notices, and,
• No later than 72 hours after notice is given for an employee who quits with less than 72 hours notice.

Which means that if the person with the question quit without notice, the company has 72 hours to provide wages/vacation due. If the person believes the company is remiss, they should contact their local Division of Local Standards Enforcement office.

2 Reviews

15 Answers

Expert

Date: 3/19/2013 8:27 AM (PST)

Mari is right. If your employer fires you, you're entitled to your check that same day. If you quit without notice, the employer has 72 hours to get the check to you. This is California law, and the rules vary from state to state. In California, there's a statutory penalty of one days pay for each day the employer delays in giving you your check, up to a maximum of 30 days pay.

What do you think?