Find a reputable business?

Complaints and Resolutions

Afterpay US, Inc. complaints

600 California Street, Suite 15-001
San Francisco, CA 94108
| Get Directions

(855) 289-6014

http://www.afterpay.com

File a complaint in less than 5 minutes!

Our complaint services are free and our team of expert mediators will assist in resolving complaints with businesses.

File Complaint

Total Amount in Dispute:
$2,346.00

Total Amount Settled:
$429.00

Complaint Experience

94%

Complaint Resolution Index (CRI)

BCA's Summary and Analysis:

Our complaint history for this company shows that the company responded to and gave proper consideration to most complaints. However, one or more complaints are unresolved meaning the company failed to properly address the complaint allegations or their response was inadequate.

Read More

Complaint Closing Statistics

18 complaints against Afterpay US, Inc. closed in last 3 years.
Complaints Type of response
3 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
0 Making a partial refund
10 Agreed to make an adjustment
1 Refusing to make an adjustment
4 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
0 Unanswered

18 complaints against Afterpay US, Inc.

Sort by

12/26/2022

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $999.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

12/5/2022

On November 29, 2022 I ordered two ps5 off a website called theleatherlords.com. I immediately got suspicious about the company because I attempted to call with a question about my order. I got a number from their page for contact. When I attempted to call the number it was disconnected. I also noticed that Afterpay (a third party paying app) had listed contact information that was incorrect so I notified them immediately. I informed them that I attempted to cancel my order via email and believed I had gotten scammed. Because I requested my money back from theleatherlords and that request was being ignored. In total $249. has been debited out of my accounts towards this purchase. Afterpay is still requesting $749.25 in additional payments for this order that was cancelled minutes after it was placed. I need assistance getting my money back. Afterpay tells you that you can use them to pay for items purchased through them with installment payments. What they don't tell you about their service is that they're added fees that's being applied to those orders. I have a problem with this as well. Resolution Sought I want Afterpay to honor my cancellation request. To return my $249. and to stop requesting additional funds from me for this cancelled purchase. To go after the person who is in the wrong here and that's Theleatherlords. To stop requesting money from me on items I never received.

Read More

Company Response

12/13/2022

Thank you for contacting us regarding Ms. Chapman's recent experience with Afterpay concerning her Afterpay account. Our customer experience manager has reached out to Ms. Chapman to address her concerns. We empathize with Ms. Chapman's situation and acknowledge that fraudulent activity of any sort is alarming and violating. Fraudulent activity is an unfortunate widespread issue that impacts all Institutions. Our risk and security teams continue to enhance and add additional parameters within our system to mitigate suspicious or fraudulent activity. Please know that we take these matters very seriously and work hard to secure our customer's personal information as much as we reasonably can. Additionally, the card information is automatically encrypted when entered into our system. This means that we cannot view, nor do we have access to full credit card details. For more information, please refer to our Privacy Policy. https://www.afterpay.com/privacy-policy. Our investigations team is reviewing the details of her account and the reported activity. Once the investigation is complete, an outcome will be provided. Afterpay does not charge fees for the service. Our customers are provided with a 10-day grace period to avoid incurring a late fee. Late fees may be applied to installments if it remains unpaid for more than 10 days after the due date. We invite Ms. Chapman to reply when she has a moment so we can provide her with the proper support. Sincerely, The Afterpay Team

Read More

12/1/2022

RESPONSE: Making a full refund, as the consumer requested Amount in Dispute: $118.00 Amount Settled: $118.00

Customer Complaint

11/16/2022

I ordered a chair from World Market on 11/06/22 and chose Afterpay for my method of payment. Once submitting my order through World Market I received and error message. Immediately the first payment of $118.00 was deducted from my checking account on 11/06/22. . There is currently no active order for this purchase at merchant World Market and I am not receiving goods for what I am paying for. I made a dispute yet no refund has been issued through Afterpay and they are scheduled to deduct another $118 on 11/20/22. I have received an email from Afterpay stating my order is not active. There is no customer service to speak with and I have filed a dispute, and sent messages and are now having to resort to canceling my card so they will not continue to charge me for the installments for a purchase order there is no record of. Resolution Sought Refund my first installment payment of $118 and cancel future payments since I am not purchasing anything.

Read More

Company Response

11/18/2022

Thank you for contacting us regarding Ms. Bordes's recent experiences with Afterpay in pursuing a refund for her order with World Market. Afterpay is a budgeting service that is used to divide approved orders into four installments. According to the Afterpay Installment Agreement, we will pay merchants for the cost of approved orders upfront and in turn, our customers pay us back over four installments. Afterpay refunds are processed systematically, and in the event that an order is approved through Afterpay but unsuccessful with the retailer, a refund notice from the retailer is sent to our system to void the order. This notice prompts our system to process the refund. In reviewing Ms. Bordes's account, we confirmed that the refund notice from the merchant to void her order was not getting processed. On 11/18/22, the refund was processed to her card on file. Please allow 5-7 business days for the funds to clear into the account. We appreciate her patience and regret any inconvenience this may have caused. Sincerely, The Afterpay Team

Read More