Find a reputable business?

Complaints and Resolutions

American Advisors Group complaints

3800 West Chapman Avenue
Orange, CA 92868
| Get Directions

(770) 419-1461

http://www.aag.com

File a complaint in less than 5 minutes!

Our complaint services are free and our team of expert mediators will assist in resolving complaints with businesses.

File Complaint

Total Amount in Dispute:
$41,668.00

Total Amount Settled:
$0.00

Complaint Experience

0%

Complaint Resolution Index (CRI)

BCA's Summary and Analysis:

Our complaint history for this company shows that the company responded to and gave proper consideration to some complaints. However, most complaints are unresolved meaning the company failed to properly address the complaint allegations or their response was inadequate.
However, the company failed to respond to one complaint.

Read More

Complaint Closing Statistics

2 complaints against American Advisors Group closed in last 3 years.
Complaints Type of response
0 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
0 Making a partial refund
0 Agreed to make an adjustment
0 Refusing to make an adjustment
1 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
1 Unanswered

2 complaints against American Advisors Group

Sort by

1/20/2022

RESPONSE: Complaint was not answered Amount in Dispute: $41,000.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

12/27/2021

For 17 and a half months AAG could not close my reverse mortgage. Because of that I had to use monies that had to be used to pay contractors. They created my very high tax liability. Now my income has been lowered via social security. I'm a disabled senior. Resolution Sought They should pay the liability, but I seriously doubt that will happen.

Read More

7/25/2019

RESPONSE: Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement Amount in Dispute: $667.82 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

6/24/2019

Said would pay for appraisal $575.00; had it done, but it wasn't what I wanted. I said would think about it. They keep calling trying to offer more and I said I liked it. He sent the loan comparison paper to my phone and I went over it with him. He said his loan manager ok'd it and nothing on that paper would change. and would need to close quick because points would change. Four days later Notary brought papers to my house and I started signing paper. I was slow, was told I had 3 days to read them. I called the next morning was told things must have changed with state taxes and so on. Four months later got my $575.00 back for appraisal fee but still owe me $667.82. Last time I spoke to Mr. Tim Wise he said that was not the paper I signed and hung up on me after I said I was pencil whipped. I think its just not right! Resolution Sought Pay what they owe me!! $667.82.

Read More

Company Response

7/10/2019

American Advisors Group (herein AAG) is in receipt of your correspondence, which was received via a email from Business Consumer Alliance (BCA) on July 10, 2019. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. In your complaint, you specifically stated the following: Said would pay for appraisal $575.00; had it done, but it wasn't what I wanted. I said would think about it. They keep calling trying to offer more and I said I liked it. He sent the loan comparison paper to my phone and I went over it with him. He said his loan manager ok'd it and nothing on that paper would change. and would need to close quick because points would change. Four days later Notary brought papers to my house and I started signing paper. I was slow, was told I had 3 days to read them. I called the next morning was told things must have changed with state taxes and so on. Four months later got my $575.00 back for appraisal fee but still owe me $667.82. Last time I spoke to Mr. Tim Wise he said that was not the paper I signed and hung up on me after I said I was pencil whipped. I think its just not right! Your desired settlement of this matter is stated as: Pay what they owe me!! $667.82. AAG strives to provide both consumers as well as our borrowers with the highest level of service, and we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. As was explained to you in your conversations with your Loan Originator, as well as with AAG complaint Resolution Specialst, Mr. Waiss, you were reimbursed for the appraisal in good faith, but the additional funds you are requesting are unclear and based on our review of your loan details, the $667.82 that you are requesting, is not owed you. AAG, as with all HECM lenders, is regulated by HUD/FHA, as well as numerous Federal and State requirements. AAG has met these requirements in full. Every HECM loan process has two times in which loan values are shared. The fist time is prior to the application and is known as the Good Faith Estimate. The second time is during the application/origination period, after the appraised home value has been received. The appraised value is what the loan is originted upon. The final loan values were sent to you in your loan documents, all of which you signed, acknowledging your agreement. In addition to your signatures, as you yourself stated, HUD requires a 3-day right to rescind period for every HECM loan. This time frame allows the borrower to review the documents they signed for accuracy, as well as offers a time to simply change their mind. AAG did not receive a notice of recision from you and therefore funded the loan as required. It is unclear to AAG where you derived the $667.82 value from, but if you have verifiable support of a discrepancy, please submit written documentation to AAG CARES department for review and we will review the details and respond to you as promptly as possible. If we do not hear from you directly, we will consider this concern resolved. We hope this letter has helped bring clarity to the facts associated to your listed concerns and we wish you all the best. Respectfully, AAG CARES Department AAG | American Advisors Group PHONE: 866.948.0003 EMAIL: aagcares@aag.com ADDRESS: 3800 W. Chapman Avenue, Third Floor, Orange, CA 92868

Read More

Customer Rebuttal

7/15/2019

I submitted verifiable support of a discrepancy to AAG CARES department back the Fall 2018. I called and spoke with James on September 24, 2018. I can see where he raised prices, then lowered them. I told him I wanted the difference, plus the appraisal that he said AAG would pay. Per the packet I received it stated if I had any complaints or anything to send back I should use the address 3800 W. Chapman Ave, 3rd Fl, Orange 92868. Mr. Wise still has no idea what's going on with my refund check. The good faith contract was what they sent me on my phone. I have a copy of the message James sent me if they need to see it. They agreed to cut so many points so they could give me more money. The lump sum and my first amount for the first year. The following year was going to be another spilt of $9114.86, plus interest. I still feel they owe me $667.82. They need to listen to the recorded phone call with James on September 19, 2018, that's when I ok'd it. If they are using deceptive sales practices, then something needs to be done about it.

Read More