based on 14 reviews

  • Category:
  • Address:

    Los Angeles, CA 90024
  • Phone:
    (818) 980-2119
  • Website:
  • Social:
    Award Studio on YouTube 
  • Hours:
    Day and evening classes available. Call us for more information!
  • Primary Contact:
    Amy Ward (Owner)
  • Business Started:
    7/28/1999

Award Studio offers airbrush & traditional media make-up artistry courses. We also offer photography sessions for student portfolios.

622 inquiries

About Award Studio

The business has not provided this information yet. If you are the business owner, sign up to manage your storefront.

Membership Information

This business is not a member of Business Consumer Alliance. This fact does not disparage the company in any way.

Photos & Videos

View all photos

BCA Ratings & Complaints

Rating for Award Studio

How does BCA rate Award Studio?
View the comprehensive report to see if there are any compaints filed against the business, their rating and other special advisories.

Special Deals

  • This business currently has no special deals or promotions on BCA.


Customer Reviews & Ratings

14 recent reviews Ratings Breakdown
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    I definitely recommend her!

    Posted on 1/14/2015

    Awesome Studio! I worked with Amy as a model and found her super professional and talented. The students were all happy and excited about the school and the energy was great. She provided all of us with amazing pictures for our portfolio. I definitely recommend her!

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    I had such a great time shooting with Amy.

    Posted on 1/14/2015

    I had such a great time shooting with Amy. This was my first photo shoot and Amy and her artists made me feel amazing. I was so amazed in how they were so professional and very unique in style. Ms. Amy gave my great guidance along the way and I cannot wait to work with her again. Thank you so much.

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    I attended Award Studio about 3 years ago, and had an amazing experience!!

    Posted on 1/9/2015

    I attended Award Studio about 3 years ago, and had an amazing experience!! I immediately began booking jobs after completing the Media Makeup course because I was able to provide my clients with very impressive work. I am now making a living as a professional Makeup Artist. Amy Ward has been working in the industry for many years and provides her students with all the tools one would need to become very successful. she was such an inspiration to me! Award Studio was the best decision and is truly what allowed me to peruse my dream. I will forever thank Amy for that!

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    I attended the class February 2014 and was amazed by the experience of the instructor!

    Posted on 1/9/2015

    If you're looking for a small, very personal education in makeup artistry; then look no further than Award Studio! I attended the class February 2014 and was amazed by the experience of the instructor, Amy Ward and her knowledge of the industry. She only takes around 8 students max so you can be sure to get a lot of one on one time with her. Up until then I was self taught with airbrush and basic makeup, but Amy showed me so many new techniques that I believe have made me a better makeup artist. Since the class, I have been booked solid and hope to be full time in less than a year. Amy has also taken a personal interest in me post class answering any questions and guiding me in the right direction. I feel she was not only my instructor, but a mentor for my future as well. You will not get that interest and quality from a large school. THANK YOU AMY!!

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    Amy's experience in the industry really made a significant impact to the overall class!

    Posted on 1/9/2015

    I knew I would learn many of the "tricks of the trade" in makeup but I was not expecting so much information about the business aspect of being a makeup artist. Everything from where/how to find potential work but also how to present my portfolio. Amy's experience in the industry really made a significant impact to the overall class since she was able to point out subtle differences in makeup application and how it would impact the final photos. Since the class size was small, everyone had a lot of time to ask questions and everyone could listen. I cannot imagine being able to get as much out of the class in a larger class setting. Absolutely a five star class!

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    I would give 10 stars to the Award Studio!

    Posted on 1/9/2015

    I would give 10 stars to the Award Studio! I enrolled in this school because of its efficiency, a wide range of information and an impressive professional portfolio for a very competitive price, considering the skills that I was able to build. The course far exceeded my expectations! This makeup school gave me all the tools, knowledge and skills to become a successful professional makeup artist. The course structure was dynamic, efficient and balanced. I learned more about makeup and all the intricate tips and tricks of media makeup, which I could not learn in over 7 years of "self-teaching" with books, tutorials and practicing on friends. We had 8 hour days (minus 1 lunch hour) filled with a rich amount of information, but I never felt overwhelmed, and definitely not bored. Amy is a classy and graceful lady with the patience of a saint with students of all personalities and backgrounds. She is very knowledgeable and attentive. Being open to learn (and without a negative and petty attitude), I got all the help I needed from her! She inspired me to explore my creativity, at the same time keeping me within clear boundaries of the precise rules of media makeup. Also, the professional makeup case was great and comprehensive - with an airbrush gun, compressor, all necessary brushes and a range of products for all skin types and tones. Most of all, I was genuinely impressed with Amy's passion for artistic expression. I cannot emphasize enough how valuable it was for me to experience a "real world setting" at the end of the course. I am so grateful that Amy went out of her way to arrange for models to come to the studio for three professional photo shoots. I audited a few other LA makeup schools where students practice solely on their fellow classmates and end up with just a few "point and shoot" pictures in their portfolios at the end of a costly course. In contrast, Amy invited real models and used professional equipment (with all the bells and whistles). Her talent as an experienced photographer and contacts with a professional photo lab helped us create impressive customized portfolios. It was definitely beyond my expectations to have both editorial onsite and fashion location photos in my portfolio. This turned out to be a really lengthy review, but Amy and her Award Studio deserve every single word of praise!

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    I give it an A+!

    Posted on 1/5/2015

    I am definitely convinced that the Media Makeup course is legitimate and I couldn't have landed in a better place. Amy Ward is a wealth of information with the years of experience in several fields. Thank you Amy and I recommend this course to anyone with a true passion in makeup artistry and determination to get out there and show the world your creativity! I give it an A+!

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    Five stars is not enough for her, I would give her at least six!!!

    Posted on 12/16/2014

    One day I was browsing the internet for places to get new head shot, when I stumbled across Award Studio. I emailed Amy Ward and she booked me in for a shoot. You get multiple professional makeup artists working on you, and of course the amazing Amy photographs you. Can I just say that my first experience was so amazing, I have returned to the studio at least 3 times and I'm booked to come in November again! First off, the makeup students have flown in from all over the country and they are so friendly. I can say I've made a bunch of really awesome friends over the past year and a half just from there. Every time I visit, the time spent there is full of laughter and love. A bunch of people from all over the country gather in a room to practice what they love and build their portfolios. Of course, at the end we take a group picture. Second of all, Amy is such an amazing soul, she tries to bring out your inner beauty while photographing you and all my shots with her have gotten really good feedback :) She has awesome "locations" behind her studio, some with graffiti and fences and brick walls and a bunch of other scenery's. What else do you need? Awesome photographer, awesome locations and awesome make up artists.

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    If you want to learn from the best, learn under Amy Ward at Award Studios.

    Posted on 12/11/2014

    In going to Award Studio to get ready for the photo shoot, I honestly did not know what to expect. In meeting Amy, she was so very kind and I can immediately tell she is very particular about you doing things as instructed. She was the same with the make-up artists who were working on me for them getting their hands-on experience. If anything, she can be tough but very fair - which is what is needed for such a tough industry. She knows her stuff! If you want to learn from the best, learn under Amy Ward at Award Studios.

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review
  • 1 Review
    0 Answers

    I will refer her to everyone for head shots and photo shoots! AMAZING!!!!!!

    Posted on 12/11/2014

    I had a WONDERFUL experience with Amy Ward. She was so professional and timely. My photos I took turned out so beautiful and classy! I am very pleased with them. She is so experienced. The locations were wonderful. The makeup artists and pieces of wardrobe were excellent. I will refer her to everyone for head shots and photo shoots! AMAZING!!!!!!

    Send a Message

    Was this review...?
  • Flag This Review