Find a reputable business?

Complaints and Resolutions

Express Scripts complaints

1 Express Way
Saint Louis, MO 63121
| Get Directions

(800) 871-4663

http://express-scripts.com

Contact us for hours of operation.

File a complaint in less than 5 minutes!

Our complaint services are free and our team of expert mediators will assist in resolving complaints with businesses.

File Complaint

Total Amount in Dispute:
$3,154.00

Total Amount Settled:
$200.00

Complaint Experience

63%

Complaint Resolution Index (CRI)

BCA's Summary and Analysis:

Our complaint history for this company shows the company gave proper consideration to some complaints presented to them.

Although in some cases the company failed to respond to complaints.

Read More

Complaint Closing Statistics

8 complaints against Express Scripts closed in last 3 years.
Complaints Type of response
1 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
0 Making a partial refund
3 Agreed to make an adjustment
0 Refusing to make an adjustment
1 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
3 Unanswered

8 complaints against Express Scripts

Sort by

7/18/2022

RESPONSE: Complaint was not answered Amount in Dispute: $0.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

6/22/2022

My wife's medicine is constantly being denied because of "need doctor approval". I saw our family doctor on Friday June 17th, after my visit I asked him to renew wife's diabetes meds. He stated it was already sent to Express Scripts a while ago, but he would re-submit. As of June 22, 2022 online order "again" denied, waiting on doctor's approval. This has been an on going issue with E.S. Seldom has she been able to speak with a real rep. Last person she spoke with was very rude and sarcastic. perhaps reps need some re-training to be more considerate to the elderly. Resolution Sought Look into why her meds have such difficult time being sent out.

Read More

8/2/2022

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $177.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

5/31/2022

I was charged for a drug that I did not order. The drug in question is Albuterol, an inhaler for COPD. The prescription was included in the 3 month renewal of medications I have received in the past from Express Scripts. The Express Srcipts mobile app that I manage my drugs with has an auto refill button which allows one to select the prescriptions to be automatically refilled. Due to the cost of Albuterol I choose to not auto refill and order on an individual basis when I can afford the medicine. On the 24th of May I noticed an order being processed for the Albuterol with no pricing indicated. I logged on to the mobile app, viewed my payment method and deselected auto pay. On the 26th $177 was removed from my checking account. I called and asked that the charge to be reversed and my request was denied and no refund is allowed. I do not want the Albuterol and feel like I was unfairly treated during my refund request. Resolution Sought I would like the $177 returned to my account asap as the withdrawal by Express Scripts has caused my checking account to default due to lack of funds. I have no intention of accepting delivery of the Albuterol and will return unopened as soon as I receive in the mail. The firm did not communicate its policy's regarding refills and orders during my enrollment and I used the mobile app with the understanding that the app was my control method over my drug purchases and payment methods.

Read More

Company Response

7/13/2022

By way of background, Express Scripts administers prescription drug benefit plans on behalf of plan sponsors. Express Scripts provides plan sponsors with "core" pharmacy benefit management services, including third-party claims processing, formulary administration, benefit plan communications, and other similar activities. Express Scripts' home delivery pharmacy provides home delivery of prescription medications to beneficiaries of the pharmacy benefit plans sponsored by the clients. These services, contracted by the plan sponsors, satisfy the plan sponsors' goals of providing a cost-effective, seamless and clinically appropriate benefit for its patients. Mr. Heywood indicates that he received unexpected medication and charged more than expected; therefore, requesting an adjustment. On May 24, 2022, Express Scripts Pharmacy received an order from Mr. Heywood's prescriber and mailed it the next day. As standard procedure, for Express Scripts Pharmacy, when the prescriber submits a new prescription for a patient, the first order is automatically mailed. In an effort to resolve, Express Scripts Pharmacy is adjusting the claim in the amount of $169.60 and Mr. Heywood should allow approximately 21-30 days for it to be completed. If there is a balance on the account once completely processed, then the credited amount will apply to the balance and the remaining credit amount, if any, will be refunded to Mr. Heywood. I trust this letter has been responsive to your request for information regarding this complaint. If you have any questions regarding this matter, or desire any further explanation or information, please contact me directly at (800) 871-4663.

Read More

Customer Rebuttal

7/20/2022

Thank you for your consideration!! In the future I believe it would be beneficial to explain to new customers the policies regarding payment authorizations and disclose verbally that prescriptions are automatically refilled in entirety when received from the prescriber not per patient request. I would like to apologize for my behavior over the phone in May. The unexpected charge created a default in my banking program which cost me much time and expense to rectify and I was frustrated. Thank you for working with me on this matter!!!

Read More