Find a reputable business?

Complaints and Resolutions

1420 Kettner Blvd. #100
San Diego, CA 92101
| Get Directions

(877) 350-0771

http://www.metals.com

File a complaint in less than 5 minutes!

Our complaint services are free and our team of expert mediators will assist in resolving complaints with businesses.

File Complaint

Total Amount in Dispute:
$1,449,755.00

Total Amount Settled:
$357,592.00

Complaint Experience

22%

Complaint Resolution Index (CRI)

BCA's Summary and Analysis:

Complaints generally allege the misrepresentation of services, failure to buy back coins, failure to pay fees, coins worth significantly less than represented, and difficulty contacting the company. Some complainants are senior citizens that have invested their savings.

The company responds to some complaints by contacting the complainant directly to offer resolution. In most cases the company failed to respond to complaints.

Read More

Complaint Closing Statistics

27 complaints against Metals.com closed in last 3 years.
Complaints Type of response
1 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
0 Making a partial refund
2 Agreed to make an adjustment
3 Refusing to make an adjustment
2 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
19 Unanswered

27 complaints against Metals.com

Sort by

9/8/2020

RESPONSE: Complaint was not answered Amount in Dispute: $42,000.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

8/13/2020

After all the hype on Facebook and Sean Hannity about the supermarket I did every check on the company that I could and bought in. I sent a check for 66000 and received 24000 in silver. I gave them all of my money that I had in stocks and now I find out that they are a fraud. They don't return my calls and I'm afraid I lost all of my savings. Resolution Sought I would like my money back plus what I list in earnings on my 66000. Or give me my 66000 worth of silver and not 24000

Read More

9/7/2020

RESPONSE: Refusing to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $100,000.00 Amount Settled: $100,000.00

Customer Complaint

8/10/2020

2 years ago I was going through a divorce. My ex got half of my 401K money. So, with what I had left I decide to take half of that and invest into silver and gold. I told them I had 100,000 to invest and they told me what I would get. I expected a fair deal. They had it broken down into silver bars, and various coins. I notice that 90 of my coins were 1/2 ounce silver polar bear coins and I paid back then 26.02 per coin. I had over 3,000 of those coins. I did not know the value of these coins at the time in 2018. I know now that they we worth about a third of what I paid for them. Going in to the investment they made 70,000 dollars starting in April 2018. Fast forward to today. I tried to contact them since I lost my job. They managed to sell 193 of my coins for what I paid for them. It's like pulling teeth for them to cooperate. Since silver is up at least 40 for what I paid for it back then I expected some kind of a return. I'm willing to let them keep my 40 just so I can have MY MONEY that I worked for, and not for them to steal. I'm in need of my money and I have a disabled daughter living with me. I'm still willing to work with Metals.com, but if they are stonewalling me then I have no choice but to seek legal action. Resolution Sought I want 100 of my 100,000 dollars returned to me. Like I said Silver is up 40 since I bought mine. They can keep the 40 profit, and not the 70 they took from me in the beginning. If I was dealing with an honest company I would have 140,000 dollars.

Read More

Company Response

8/25/2020

We attampt to resolve all potential complaints informally and at the mutual satisfaction of all parties involved. In response to 98921602, TMTE, inc. is confused By the nonfactual and quite frankly illogical statements in your report. We hope this response clarifies the numerous factual inaccuracies contained therein. First, we must state that we are not responsible for your divorce. TMTE does not offer any marriage counsel and we are confused as to why your divorce is mentioned as part of a retail product purchase customer service issue. We can confirm you made a retail product purchase of diverse merchandise many years ago on April 6th 2018. All your diverse merchandise was subsequently delivered to your name and is now under your possession and in your control. Further, it appears you're a portion of your merchandise for the same exact price you had purchased it at. Therefore, your statement is wholly inaccurate and completely false. TMTE, inc. does not make any statements regarding potential market performance under any circumstances. Any allegations alleging otherwise are simply not true. We respectfully remind you, that you signed a "transaction agreement acknowledging we do not offer any potential market insights and have no statements on potential market performance or risks associated with owning gold or silver. You acknowledged in writing as much, both agreeing and signing: "Customer Assumes Investment Risk; Investment Decisions. Customer acknowledges that purchases and sales of Precious Metals involve considerable risk. Market prices are at times volatile and may be affected by a variety of factors including, among others, general economic conditions, political events, monetary policies of various countries, fluctuations in production and demand, stock-piles, speculative activity and the degree of concern people have about these matters. It is impossible to forecast accurately how or to what degree these or other factors will affect prices. Customer acknowledges and agrees that Customer assumes the risk of all investment decisions regarding any and all Precious Metals the Customer purchases from metals and metals makes no guarantee or representation regarding Customer's ability to profit (or avoid loss) from any purchase or any representation regarding any tax implications of any purchase and the decision to purchase or sell Precious Metals. Any purchases from metals are made subject to Customer's own prudence, judgment and ultimate decision. Customer expressly acknowledges and agrees to hold metals harmless for any damages arising out of the performance by metals of this Agreement. Customer understands that past performance cannot be an indicative of future results. " Further, the values you listed in your complaint are completely untrue and inaccurate seeing as you yourself liquidated a portion of your merchandise at the same exact price you purchased your physical merchandise at. Lastly, we are under no obligation legally to purchase back all retail products and have never represented at any time the willingness to do so. We look forward to speaking with you so we can amicably resolve any outstanding inaccuracies that may be giving you a false impression of events. We pride ourselves on 100 customer accuracy and satisfaction. Thank you for the opportunity

Read More