Find a reputable business?

Complaints and Resolutions

Optima Tax Relief, LLC complaints

3100 Harbor Blvd., Suite 250
Santa Ana, CA 92704
| Get Directions

(800) 536-0734

http://www.optimataxrelief.com

Monday-Saturday: 7:00 AM-6:00 PM

File a complaint in less than 5 minutes!

Our complaint services are free and our team of expert mediators will assist in resolving complaints with businesses.

File Complaint

Total Amount in Dispute:
$836,700.00

Total Amount Settled:
$8,490.00

Complaint Experience

97%

Complaint Resolution Index (CRI)

BCA's Summary and Analysis:

Our complaint history for this company shows that the company responded to and gave proper consideration to most complaints. However, one or more complaints are unresolved meaning the company failed to properly address the complaint allegations or their response was inadequate.

Read More

Complaint Closing Statistics

109 complaints against Optima Tax Relief, LLC closed in last 3 years.
Complaints Type of response
2 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
5 Making a partial refund
84 Agreed to make an adjustment
10 Refusing to make an adjustment
8 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
0 Unanswered

109 complaints against Optima Tax Relief, LLC

Sort by

4/5/2021

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $4,000.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

3/15/2021

You lied! Asked u to negotiate the debt down u lead us in to a never ending accrue debut that would take our paid for land! You took from a disabled man & you didn't help us in any way! Shame on you! We are being broke by IRS because you let it go and all keep debt keep accruing! Resolution Sought I want this claim addressed.

Read More

Company Response

3/23/2021

Optima Tax management reached out to the client to address the concerns stated in their complaint. Contact attempts were made on 3/17, 3/18, 3/19, 3/22 and 3/23 via both phone and email. Optima Tax will continue to reach out to the client and will maintain open lines of communication until a mutual agreement is reached. At this time we request the client's cooperation in identifying a good time for us to contact them so that we can move forward to address their concerns.

Read More

4/6/2021

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $0.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

3/8/2021

I required assistance from Optima Tax Relief 02/28/2020, first payment of $495.00 and $399.00 from 4/02/2020 thru 08/01/2020. From 2/2820 to 3/21 OTR (Ms. Tonnie) called me 3/5/21 to offer me (2) options, 1st option to pay the IRS $190.00 and 2nd option no collectable. I told Ms. Tonnie I could not afford to pay $190.00 a month and that is why I paid them $2,490.00 to solve my tax debt. I then asked her, if I choose option 2, would I still be recurring penalties and late fees? She stated, "yes." That really infuriated me. I told her I did not need to pay OTR $2,490.00 just to tell me that. I can call the IRS myself and set up a installment plan or not pay them. From 2/20 to 3/21 this process was too long for these options, I all really knew I could do. Contacting OTR was very difficult. I was lead to believe that I could get my tax debt swipe clean or at least debt lower less than $11,000 dollars. The financial situation I'm in, I did choose option 2, however neither one these option benefits me, so I choose neither. I can't afford $190.00 a month nor can I afford not to pay the IRS, because I will continue to go deeper and deeper in debt with the IRS. The only option I want is my monies refunded back to me and I can deal with the IRS myself, which I should have done in the beginning. The $2,490.00 I struggle to pay OTR, I could have paid that to IRS. I know longer want their so-call services. Resolution Sought I want a refund of all the monies, I paid OTR, because this has been a year and they have done nothing to help me!!

Read More

Company Response

3/19/2021

Optima Tax management immediately reached out to the client to address the concerns stated in their complaint. The client agreed to engage Optima Tax's services for three distinct services: Collection Representation, Compliance and an Installment Agreement. After determining the client was in a hardship, Optima Tax placed the client into Currently Not Collectible Status. The next step would have been for us to move the client to our Offer in Compromise team to review her for a potential Offer. The client was unwilling to allow us to proceed to work her case after we explained that we could not change IRS policy regarding interest and penalties. Although we attempted to work in house with the client, she was insistent that she wished to part ways. Optima Tax regrets that we were unable to reach a mutually agreeable resolution in this matter. Our courtesy offer will remain on the table should the client wish to accept.

Read More

Customer Rebuttal

3/25/2021

Consumer states; That's a lie. It was not about OTR changing the IRS policy, it was about working to lower or removing my tax debt. They had my information for 381 days and done nothing, especially when they stated,"They start working right away on your tax problem." The options they give me, (1) can I pay a $190.00 a month or (2) don't pay anything, it took them 381 days to come-up with that. I already knew that, I could have worked with the IRS directly and paid them the$2,495.00. OTR told me, "They could lower my tax debt, keep penalties and late fees from accumalating." I have also reported OTR to the BBB. I'm prepared to report OTR to the FBI and any News station that will listen. I don't understand how OTR has 5 star rating when they have all of those complaints against them. I'm in the process of contacting other customers that have filed complaints against OTR. OTR offered me $399.00 and later $500.00, that's a slap in my face. I paid OTR $2,495.00 to them for nothing, I want my full refund. I'm a dissatisfied, retired, disable, and living on a fixed income customer, who has been ripped off, of monies I really could not afford to pay. OTR never called me, unless I reached

Read More