Find a reputable business?

Complaints and Resolutions

Optima Tax Relief, LLC complaints

3100 Harbor Blvd., Suite 250
Santa Ana, CA 92704
| Get Directions

(800) 536-0734

http://www.optimataxrelief.com

Monday-Saturday: 7:00 AM-6:00 PM

File a complaint in less than 5 minutes!

Our complaint services are free and our team of expert mediators will assist in resolving complaints with businesses.

File Complaint

Total Amount in Dispute:
$730,005.00

Total Amount Settled:
$730,005.00

Complaint Experience

100%

Complaint Resolution Index (CRI)

BCA's Summary and Analysis:

Our complaint history for this company shows the company gave proper consideration to complaints presented to them.

Read More

Complaint Closing Statistics

87 complaints against Optima Tax Relief, LLC closed in last 3 years.
Complaints Type of response
1 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
5 Making a partial refund
64 Agreed to make an adjustment
3 Refusing to make an adjustment
14 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
0 Unanswered

87 complaints against Optima Tax Relief, LLC

Sort by

5/21/2020

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $26,000.00 Amount Settled: $26,000.00

Customer Complaint

5/7/2020

I hired this company to resolve my tax situation - I paid them over 26,000.00 , provided multiple Times the requested information they failed to submit my so-called resolution within the time frame in which I still had some money to be up to date with my quarterly estimated payments to IRS, they never submitted until multiple requests and complaints - their "power of attorney" to protect you and stop any levy's or garnishment is complete BS - my bank account was garnished TWICE during their protection. I have dealt with over FIFTEEN people in that company and NONE have gone over my concerns, questions or Problems! Nothing has been accomplished - They claim they're working on your file and yet their lack of communication and professionalism is beyond frustrating! After I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau they decided to call and make me a ridiculous and insulting offer of $6250? They have left me zero choice than to seek legal help. This company is a SCAM! Their advertising is FALSE! Resolution Sought FULL Reimbursement! Willing to pay them the $600 initial fee, their lack of communication and performance does NOT warrant any payment!

Read More

Company Response

5/8/2020

Optima Tax management immediately reached out to the client to address the concerns stated in their complaint. We had previously spent months working with the client to resolve their concerns. In late December 2018, Optima Tax prepared an Offer in Compromise submission for the client which would have resolved a six figure IRS liability for a total of $300. As part of this offer, the client needed to make the required estimated tax payments. The client insisted that she did not need to make these estimated tax payments as she was not working. Optima Tax requested bank statements to submit to the IRS Offer Specialist for proof that the client was not employed. When Optima Tax received the bank statements, they showed tens of thousands of dollars of deposits over the previous months. The client stated these were gifts to help her make ends meet. We requested some sort of documentation we could provide to the IRS Offer Specialist to explain the deposits and establish that the client did not need to make estimated tax payments. Because the client either could not or would not provide adequate substantiation for the IRS Offer Specialist, the client's OIC was rejected. Optima Tax attempted to work with the client for months, but the Client ultimately was unwilling to cooperate, and we had no choice but to close out the client's file. Optima Tax regrets that we were unable to reach a mutually agreeable resolution in this matter. Our courtesy offer will remain on the table should the client wish to accept.

Read More

5/28/2020

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $12,600.00 Amount Settled: $12,600.00

Customer Complaint

5/6/2020

I contacted Optima in desperation. I was an over the road Trucker from Florida and I was in Utah when my Wife called me and told me that an IRS Agent has come to our door and claimed I owed $206,000 from 2006. I panicked and called Optima because I heard their Ads on the Radio all day everyday. They said they would represent me against the IRS. They charged me $18,000. They put me on a payment plan and took $12,600 over 11 months. In that 11 months the IRS came to my door 4 times. Optima never contacted my revenue officer once. I eventually went to the IRS office in Tampa and met with the Agent myself. I got the debt refused to $19,000. I was put on a payment plan and I got it all done with no help from Optima Tax relief. I contacted them and asked for a refund since I got nothing as far as service from them. They offer to give me only $2,500 of my money back. I asked for an itemized bill of the expenses they were charging me and they flat out refused! I am seeking legal action against them. They are scam artists and crooks! Resolution Sought I would like a full refund in the Amount of $12,600

Read More

Company Response

5/18/2020

Optima Tax management immediately reached out to the client to address the concerns stated in their complaint. The client came to Optima Tax with an active Revenue Officer assigned to their account. Although contact was immediately made with the RO, the agent attempted to sidestep our power of attorney by contacting the client directly. Contrary to the client's assertion, we had multiple contacts and conversations with the client's RO over a course of 11 months. Optima Tax had been diligently and actively reaching out to them seeking documents to move forward with their case. The client received weekly reminder emails, weekly sms reminders, and frequent phone calls regarding the outstanding documents needed. The client also received multiple calls and emails from his case manager in response to his questions. At the time of cancellation, Optima Tax was willing and prepared to continue assisting the client with his tax issues. In light of the client's desire to part ways, Optima Tax made a reasonable offer based on work performed and efforts expended attempting to resolve his tax liability. The client requested that Optima Tax provide a breakdown of billable hours. Optima Tax does not operate on a billable hour basis. Our cost to handle a case is set out in the beginning of representation based on the complexity of the case and the anticipated time to complete. The price does not change whether the case takes 10 hours or 100 hours. Because we do not track billable hours, we are unable to provide a detailed hourly breakdown to the client. Such a list simply does not exist. Our contract with the client expressly sets forth that we will not be able to provide a billable hour breakdown should the client request one in the future. Optima Tax has reached out to the client upon receiving the complaint and made good-faith attempts to reach a mutual agreement. Unfortunately, we were not able to come to an agreement with the client. Although it is not typical for us to offer refunds outside of our cancellation period, a generous courtesy refund was offered. Our courtesy offer will remain on the table should the client wish to accept.

Read More