Find a reputable business?

Complaints and Resolutions

The General Auto Insurance complaints

2636 Elm Hill Pike, Suite 510
Nashville, TN 37214
| Get Directions

(615) 242-1961

http://www.thegeneral.com

File a complaint in less than 5 minutes!

Our complaint services are free and our team of expert mediators will assist in resolving complaints with businesses.

File Complaint

Total Amount in Dispute:
$13,987.00

Total Amount Settled:
$0.00

Complaint Experience

12%

Complaint Resolution Index (CRI)

BCA's Summary and Analysis:

Our complaint history for this company shows that the company responded to and gave proper consideration to some complaints. However, most complaints are unresolved meaning the company failed to properly address the complaint allegations or their response was inadequate.

Read More

Complaint Closing Statistics

17 complaints against The General Auto Insurance closed in last 3 years.
Complaints Type of response
0 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
0 Making a partial refund
3 Agreed to make an adjustment
7 Refusing to make an adjustment
0 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
7 Unanswered

17 complaints against The General Auto Insurance

Sort by

2/15/2021

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $0.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

2/2/2021

I have currently had my truck in a repair shop for over two months currently, I was hit by an uninsured driver, and my insurance company keeps giving me the run around and won't give the shop the ok to fix the vehicle, this is a 2019 Chevy 2500 I pay for full coverage insurance, it is my only personal vehicle other than my wife's vehicle Resolution Sought I just want my insurance company "the general auto insurance" to fix my vehicle

Read More

Company Response

2/3/2021

Thank you for your inquiry dated. Please be advised that the insurance companies affiliated with The General® are regulated by the Department of Insurance in each state. The companies are also a member of the Nashville, Tennessee chapter of the Better Business Bureau. The companies receive, investigate and respond to consumer complaints and inquiries from the Departments of Insurance and the Better Business Bureau on a routine basis, as well as any complaint or inquiry received directly from a consumer. However, we are under no obligation to respond to inquiries from your organization. You may advise any consumer who has a complaint or inquiry to contact us directly for assistance. Sincerely, The Customer Concern Response Team The General® P.O. Box 305195 Nashville, TN 37230-5195 800.280.1466

Read More

9/30/2020

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $8,000.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

9/16/2020

I hit a deer in my 2020 jeep Compass latitude and josh fennelle took all my information, he's my adjuster, and I call Jeep superior and speak with Ty and he's waiting on the go ahead. I sent my towing receipt to josh on 09.08.20 and when I called that's the only thing holding my claim up. I have emailed him and he will not return my email or call him his is my only ride for work and need it fixed or totaled. They say it's going to cost more as this process continues; the Jeep cost is 21,000. If it cost over 10,000 can they not total it? Resolution Sought Get the ball rolling; either fix it or total it

Read More

Company Response

9/17/2020

Thank you for your inquiry dated September 16, 2020. Please be advised that the insurance companies affiliated with The General® are regulated by the Department of Insurance in each state. The companies are also a member of the Nashville, Tennessee chapter of the Better Business Bureau. The companies receive, investigate and respond to consumer complaints and inquiries from the Departments of Insurance and the Better Business Bureau on a routine basis, as well as any complaint or inquiry received directly from a consumer. However, we are under no obligation to respond to inquiries from your organization. You may advise any consumer who has a complaint or inquiry to contact us directly for assistance. Sincerely, The Customer Concern Response Team The General® P.O. Box 305195 Nashville, TN 37230-5195 800.280.1466

Read More